♥ Sausage And Fig Focaccia

I’m on a pizza kick lately.  And I blame Stephanie Plum. That bounty hunter chick from Jersey eats a lot of pizza. However, I doubt my latest creation would be served at Pino’s Pizza.

My local health food store had fresh figs today, and I simply couldn’t resist. I had no idea what I would do with them (except eat them fresh), so I turned to Google. Of course, I narrowed my hits down to the pizza-ish category.

Stephanie would be proud, after she recovered from the initial shock of pizza with figs on it. And WTF – where’s the marinara sauce from a  five-gallon can?!

♥     ♥     ♥

Sausage And Fig Focaccia

Ingredients:

1 recipe focaccia dough (Mihl’s recipe is melt-in-your-mouth fantastic!)

4 Tablespoons Pomegranate Cumin Dressing, divided

1 Field Roast Smoked Apple Sage sausage, sliced into rounds

3 fresh figs, cut into eighths (I used brown turkey figs)

 1/2 small red onion, halved and sliced thin

± 1/3 cup Daiya Mozzarella Style Shreds

Coarsely chopped fresh parsley, for garnish

Directions:

Prepare the focaccia dough (it takes 1-1/2 hours to rise). While the dough is rising, prepare the Pomegranate Cumin Dressing. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and set aside. Ready the remaining toppings for the focaccia.

After the dough has risen, preheat the oven to 480°F. Place 1 tablespoon of the dressing on the baking sheet with the parchment paper. Knead the dough briefly in the bowl and place it on the oil on the parchment paper. Flip the dough over and use your hands to press it into an oblong or rectangle (about 10 x 14 inches).

Drizzle 2 tablespoons of the dressing over the flattened dough and then top with the sausages, figs, onions, cheese and parsley. Drizzle the last tablespoon of the dressing over the toppings. Top with freshly ground salt and pepper, to taste.

Bake for 13 to 15 minutes and serve immediately.

14 responses to “♥ Sausage And Fig Focaccia

  1. Your focaccia looks so delicious! I am so happy for fig season!

  2. I’m on a pizza kick too and was wondering what to do with some figs, besides eat them plain:)

  3. Yummy!!! I want that for breakfast 🙂

  4. Figs and veggie sausage are a fantastic combo. I love the sound of the cumin-pommegranate dressing; what a wonderful focaccia creation!

  5. That does look superfly yummy! I’ll have to try the Daiya “cheese.”

  6. Your pic left such a big Yum in my head I have nothing else to say!

  7. Now there’s a combo I don’t think I would have picked out, mostly because I don’t think of using figs in savory ways, but what a concept! I love all the colors here too… I would definitely try it!

Leave a Reply

