♥ Grilled Vegetable Kebabs

Or Kebobs. Or Kabobs. I don’t know, apparently there are a few acceptable spellings for food skewered on a stick. No matter, with the Labor Day weekend fast approaching, I want to post another one of my favorite grilled meals.

I’ve made these vegetable kebabs for years, and they are always well received by meat and veggie eaters alike.

We like to grill slices of tofu or tempeh along with the kebabs, slathered with homemade barbecue sauce.

I usually serve the kebabs with steamed brown rice on the side to soak up the extra marinade. But since this weekend is the Labor Day holiday and it’s practically law to celebrate with outdoor grilling and picnic foods, I suggest serving with the appropriate side dishes:

Classic Potato Salad

Vegan “KFC” Copycat Coleslaw

♥     ♥     ♥

Grilled Vegetable Kebabs

Ingredients:

Marinade:

1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil

2 Tablespoons fresh lemon juice

3 Tablespoons Bragg’s Liquid Aminos

1 Tablespoon vegan Worcestershire sauce

2 cloves garlic, crushed

2 teaspoons dried oregano or 2 Tablespoons fresh, finely chopped

2 teaspoons dried savory or 2 Tablespoons fresh, finely chopped

1 teaspoon dried rosemary or 1 Tablespoon fresh

2 teaspoons dried basil or 2 Tablespoons fresh, finely chopped

Freshly ground black pepper, to taste

Vegetable Suggestions:

Red or sweet onion

Red and/or yellow bell pepper

Green bell pepper

Zucchini or summer squash

Whole mushrooms

Whole cherry or grape tomatoes

Baby (or fingerlings) potatoes, pre-steamed

Directions:

Mix the marinade ingredients. Place the cut vegetables in a large, shallow dish and add the marinade. Cover the dish and refrigerate for several hours.  Stir occasionally while marinating.

While the grill is heating, skewer the vegetables. If using wooden skewers, soak them first in water for about 10 minutes.

Grill the vegetable skewers, turning and basting frequently with the marinade.  Pour the remaining marinade over the vegetables on a serving platter or use as a sauce for dipping. It’s great over steamed brown rice, too.

♥     ♥     ♥

Some time ago, I posted pictures of Snacky-The-Bear in our yard. He (she?) still visits infrequently, although he usually doesn’t leave much evidence of his nocturnal trips across our property. Unless the neighbors happen to leave a garbage can outside; in which case he will carry his stolen loot to a dark corner in our yard and rifle through its contents (bears are surprisingly neat, I have learned). Mr. Snacky enjoys grazing through the compost bin, too:

Another surprise for me, bears like wheat grass (this new pot of wheat grass–set out for the dog and cats–was four to five inches long). Who knew?!

I also posted pictures of Fatty-The-Squirrel, having some trouble getting his big behind in the new feeders that J made for them.

Mr. Fatty has busied himself making some architectural adjustments to the squirrel feeders. Problem solved!

15 responses to “♥ Grilled Vegetable Kebabs

  1. Your kebabs are beautiful! It sounds like a perfect holiday weekend meal to celebrate the last few weeks of summer. I think you’ve convinced my that I have to BBQ this weekend, and I definitely want to try your salad recipes.

    So, on the one hand you have Snacky the health-conscious wheat grass lovin’ bear, and on the other you have Fatty! “Diet Schmiet…I’ll just make the door bigger,” says he. I love it!

  2. I agree with Rose- your kebabs are beautiful! Who wouldn’t love them? All of the food looks terrific and makes me wish the weekend was already here.

    That’s funny that the bear ate the wheat grass. lol We had a bird feeder out in our last house that the squirrels chewed up to fit their needs. They’re quite crafty!

  3. I can’t wait to try your veggie kebab marinade! I usually just put my skewers on the grill sans marinade, but yours sounds a lot more exciting!

    That’s hilarious that your resident squirrel adjusted the door-width to make room for his girth. Your pictures look like they should be on some kind of motivational posters… “If you can’t change yourself, then change your expectations.” Maybe not? I’ll keep working on it.

  4. Those kebabs look perfect! Posts like these make me wish I didn’t live in an apartment and could own a grill!

    And the squirrel series is priceless. 🙂

  5. BWAH! That fat squirrel but crackles me up. Our squirrels ate a nice hole into the top of our trash can so they can get to whatever goodies make it inside. I’m kinda glad we don’t have bears around these parts though!

    • Squirrels are persistent, I’ll give them that! They have wreaked havoc on my hanging planters; (next year I am going to attempt to squirrel-proof them (if such a thing is possible). I do enjoy watching the bears…from a safe distance, of course. I have a healthy respect (i.e. fear) for them! They seem to be pretty lazy and comfortable with humans in close proximity around here, though. I practically stumbled across one–laying in the tall grass–when I was walking the dog through the meadows (that’s Tahoe’s poetic term for what we called “wetlands” back in Washington!). Of course, my goofy boy didn’t even see the bear!

  6. Ah, now you’ve got me dreaming of one last summer bash for Labor Day. I rarely do anything to celebrate, but a grill full of seasonal veggies and marinated tofu sounds like just the thing after such a crazy week.

  7. The kebabs are gorgeous. I love the way the cherry tomatoes pop out like giant beads. And the sides look perfect for a BBQ dinner in the backyard, assuming Mr. bear doesn’t invite himself.

  8. Pingback: ♥ Beer And Molasses Barbecue Sauce | it's a Greyt Vegan Life

Leave a Reply

