♥ Breakfast On The Go

Weekends are busy; and we are usually on the go. Around here, running errands (beyond the grocery store basics), means a drive down from the mountain. That means a fast and easy breakfast is in order. No, not the drive through!

My standard travel breakfast of peanut butter on whole wheat toast was getting old. I’ve had “Oats In A Jar” in the back of my mind for a while now and, finally, I gave them a try. With our daily peanut butter habit, we produce a lot of (almost) empty peanut butter jars. Overnight Oats, or Oats In A Jar, makes use of the peanut butter jars and provides a yummy travel breakfast, too (travel is not required, though). Easy Peasy and better than plain old toast any day!

This recipe for Oats In A Jar is wonderful and it was the first that I tried, actually. Most days, however, I make my favorite go-to oatmeal recipe (below).

♥     ♥     ♥

Overnight Oats

Ingredients:

1/4 cup organic thick rolled oats

1/2  to 3/4 cup coconut milk (depending upon how thick you like your oats)

1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

2 Tablespoons dried fruit (raisins, goji berries, cranberries, etc.)

2 Tablespoons nuts (sliced almonds, chopped almonds, chopped pecans, etc.)

1 small organic apple, peeled (optional) and diced

1 to 2 heaping Tablespoons peanut butter or almond butter

Directions:

Place all the ingredients in an empty 16-ounce peanut butter jar (do not rinse!). If you don’t have an empty peanut butter jar handy, use a pint Mason jar with a secure lid. Shake well and store in the refrigerator overnight.

The next morning, give the jar another shake or a good stir before eating*.

* On cold mornings, I microwave my jar of oats for about 60 seconds to take the chill off.

♥     ♥     ♥

I feel I should update this draft post from a month ago. My new favorite “to go” breakfast is now green juice!

I received a Champion juicer and a wheatgrass juicer for Mother’s Day and I have used them both every morning since. In fact, wheatgrass juice has replaced my morning cup of Joe. After 25 years, give or take, the monkey named “Joe” is finally off my back!

The juicer now sits on the kitchen counter where the coffeemaker once was and the coffeemaker is now collecting dust in the basement. And my Starbucks travel cup has been re-purposed. A higher and greener purpose, most definitely!

14 responses to “♥ Breakfast On The Go

  1. Your OIAJ look delicious! Now that we’re having warmer weather, I see a lot more overnight oats in my future. 🙂

    Love the repurposing of your Starbucks cup!

  2. Where do you even find wheatgrass? I remember having a shot of it at a coffee bar once…I think I liked it. I’m more interested in the oats, though. For some reason I can’t stand to drink my calories. I think I find chewing more satisfying.

    • You crack me up! Most grocery stores (out west, at least) sell wheatgrass in their produce departments. Sometimes they call it “cat grass”. But it gets expensive buying it like that, so I have started my own growing operation. More to come on that later! I understand the chewing thing, but honestly, I am going all day long so it is easier for me to have a cuppa juice at the ready rather than making a meal and sitting down to eat it. But, I eat a real dinner and at least one snack.

  3. I wish there was a way to go back and edit your comment after you left it! I wanted to say more about the oats, and it seems like I kind of rebuffed you in the above comment, which I didn’t mean to do. I’ve been seeing the overnight oats in a jar around for a while, and I haven’t tried this particular way to do it, but I do like to use Katie’s voluminous oats trick which involves overnight refrigeration. You’d be amazed how big a single serving of oats can get! http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2009/07/03/kozyshack-oatmeal-pudding/

  4. I’m having a bad comment day. I keep forgetting the whole point of my comment and keep making other points! All I wanted to say was…the oats look soooo yummy and I love that you add apples to yours!

  5. Haven’t tried oats in a jar yet but it sounds and looks like a quick and easy breakfast for a busy morning. I’ll have to give it a try. Thanks!

    At first, I thought you were getting green juice from Starbucks, but then I see it’s just the cup, lol. It looks very professional. 🙂

    • I thought I was the last person in the blogosphere not to have tried the OIAJ trick. I feel better now! Does Starbucks sell green juice? I guess I will never know now because I just don’t need to go there anymore! At any rate, I have quite the juicing operation going on in my kitchen. Since I usually juice first thing in the AM in my bathrobe, I don’t think I can rightfully call my juicing operation “professional”. 🙂

  6. cadryskitchen

    I’ve been meaning to try oats in a jar for a while! They were the internet buzz of 2010, what chickpea cutlets were to 2007! 🙂 I always add peanut butter to my oatmeal, and they complement each other beautifully. (Sliced bananas are also a delicious addition.)

    Congratulations on dumping coffee for wheatgrass shots! Well done! I’ve thought of saying goodbye to coffee many times, but then morning comes… Still, there’s always tomorrow!

  7. Ha ha! I know, the caffeine addiction is a tough one. I weaned myself slowly off the coffee (I never drank more than 2 cups, anyway) for a week while I was juicing the wheatgrass, too.Then I just quit. My husband doesn’t drink coffee, so that probably made it easier for me.

    I LOVE the “high” from wheatgrass so much more than the caffeine buzz. Bonus, no “crash” from the wheatgrass.

  8. I just realized that in a jar like this I could take oats to work. Ha, I’ll do that.

Leave a Reply

