♥ Portobello Fajitas

I finally gave in. After weeks, nay months, of J’s pleading repeated requests, I finally made fajitas for the man, sans the beef. Honestly, I don’t know why it took me so long to come up with a better-than-beef fajita recipe. These fajitas were so simple, but unbelievably good.

You wouldn’t know it from some of my earlier posts, but I prefer to make our meals without relying on the faux meats. I recognize that meat substitutes have their place in helping people transition from a meat-centric diet or satisfying a craving, but faux meats are still processed foods and they are to be eaten sparingly. Personally, I try to limit the faux meats to one dinner a week. Hey, the man still loves meat!

So, for this dish I turned to my favorite meat substitute: the Portobello mushroom. It has a wonderfully meaty texture when sautéed or grilled.  To go with the fajitas, I made Gallo Pinto (or painted rooster) using leftover  cooked black beans and brown rice. Last night, I made the fajitas with organic corn tortillas and the leftovers today with sprouted wheat tortillas. Either way: muy bien!

♥     ♥     ♥

Portobello Fajitas

Ingredients:

1 Tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil

2 to 3 Portobello mushrooms, halved and sliced

1 onion, halved and sliced

1 green bell pepper, halved and sliced

1 red or yellow bell pepper, halved and sliced

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 jalapeño pepper, seeded and minced

2 teaspoons ground cumin

1 teaspoon chili powder

1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

2 Tablespoons Bragg’s Liquid Aminos

1/4 to 1/3 cup chopped cilantro

Directions:

Pre-heat the oven to 200F. Wrap the tortillas in damp towel and place on a plate in the oven to warm up.

Meanwhile, heat the olive oil in a large cast iron skillet over medium heat. Saute the mushroom, onion, bell pepper, garlic, and jalapeño until the onion and peppers are crisp-tender.

Add the cumin, chili powder, cayenne and Bragg’s and continue to cook until the vegetables are tender. Stir in the cilantro and cut the heat.

Serve with the warm tortillas.

♥     ♥     ♥

Gallo Pinto (Painted Rooster)

Ingredients:

1-1/2 cups cooked black beans

1 cup vegetable broth

1/2 red onion, chopped

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 poblano pepper, chopped

1 jalapeño, seeded and minced

1 cup organic corn

1/2 teaspoon dried red chili pepper flakes

1 teaspoon ground cumin

2 cups cooked brown rice

1 14.5-ounce can of organic diced tomatoes with juice

1/4 cup chopped cilantro

Diced avocado, diced  tomato and chopped cilantro for garnish

Directions:

In a large cast iron skillet, bring the black beans and vegetable broth to a gentle boil. Reduce the heat to medium and add the onion, garlic, poblano, jalapeño, corn, red chili pepper flakes and cumin.  Cook, uncovered, over medium heat, for a few minutes.

Add the cooked rice, tomatoes and cilantro; mix well and cover. Continue to cook, stirring occasionally, until the liquid is absorbed.

Garnish with diced avocado, diced tomato and chopped cilantro and serve immediately.

12 responses to “♥ Portobello Fajitas

  1. Yum! Portobello fajitas! They look awesome! I haven’t had fajitas in a long, long time, now I want some. Thanks for the reminder and recipe! 🙂

  2. this looks so yummy, I love portobello mushrooms! I’m going to make these this week =)

    xoxo
    Jen

  3. Mushrooms are one of my favorite meat subs, they are just so flavorful! Your fajitas sound excellent, and I bet even my meat-eating dad would enjoy them, too.

  4. Pingback: ♥ Baked Chili Rellanos | it's a Greyt Vegan Life

  5. I love your take on a meatless fajita! Using portabellas is brilliant! I love vegan recipes that don’t rely on fake meats, although I’m certainly not above using them. One of my favorite sandwiches is a Boca chik’n patty on soft bread with miracle whip and lettuce. Drooooool. I like it so much better than any real meat. But I agree that there’s too much sodium, and I’m also leary of soy a little bit and try to keep it to a minimum. Portabella is betta! 🙂

    • You wouldn’t know it from some of my posts, but I do try to stay away from the fake meats. But, J loves them – what’s a girl to do?! I prefer making my own seitan, then the ingredient list is short and identifiable!

      I agree: those Boca chik’n patties are REALLY good! But Miracle Whip? (shudder!) 🙂

      I love soy, but I try to eat only non-GMO organic (same with corn, etc.). There’s a lot of confusing literature about soy and the breast cancer link out there, but the latest that I have been reading is that it is safe to consume (as they say: in moderation). It depends on the type of cancer, actually (hormone receptor positive or negative). I was a negative, so I don’t worry about my soy consumption. The fact that Asian countries had very low incidences of b.c. before they were introduced to a western diet is comforting to me (in terms of the soy thing).

      Btw, the mushroom in question has a couple of acceptable spellings. I was confused, so I Googled it before I posted this!

  6. Forgive my misspelling of portobello–that is one of those words that I never get right.

  7. I too am an ardent fan of portobellos (as a meat sub or just for their own wonderful, juicy, tasty, satsifying qualities!), and also think using them in fajitas was a stroke of delicious brilliance! And like Veronica, I too have terrible trouble wanting to put a’s where the o’s belong in that word. 🙂

  8. Like I told Veronica, there is more than one way to spell “Portobello”, no worries! I always misspelled it, until I made the command decision to just use all “o”s and call it good. Problem solved! (I can’t spell fettuccine, either – which is what we’re having for dinner tonight)

Leave a Reply

