♥ Steak And Stout Pie

Ah, more pub food! J loves the month of March and St. Patrick’s Day, in particular. I’ve never seen him get too excited about any holiday, actually, but any excuse to combine beer and food does seem to ratchet up his holiday enthusiasm.

Back in the day, we used to cook with Guinness. But nobody (including said beer company, apparently) knows if Guinness is actually vegan. So, this year, J planned ahead and brewed his own stout using this recipe for Luck O’ The Irish Stout (and I’m sure the movers enjoyed hauling the full kegs), but he added more malt to the recipe. J claims that his stout is better than Guinness. Don’t ask me, I’m just the cook. I’ve never been a Guinness, or stout, drinker anyway. I prefer to drink beer that I can see through. At any rate, it does make one darn tasty pie!

Whether you use homebrew or commercial beer (organic should be vegan), this pie will please any meat-and-potatoes guy – even the omnivore type. We make this pie the day before because we think it tastes better–and is set up better–on the second day.

♥     ♥     ♥

“Steak” and Stout Pie

Ingredients:

1 6 to 8 ounce package ‘steak’ seitan strips, cut into 1-inch pieces (I use Trader Joe’s Beef-Less Strips)

1 onion, chopped

3 cloves garlic, sliced or chopped

1 cup quartered and sliced carrots

3 cups sliced or quartered mushrooms

1-1/2 cups diced potatoes

1 Tablespoon vegan Worcestershire sauce

1 teaspoon thyme leaves

1 teaspoon rosemary leaves

1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

8 ounces stout beer

2 cups no beef base (preferred) or vegetable broth

1/4 cup whole wheat flour

Ready-made or prepared pie crust (recipe below)

Directions:

Pre-heat the oven to 400F.

Prepare the pie crusts; place one crust in a deep dish pie plate.  Prick the bottom with a fork and bake for 10 minutes.  Remove the pie plate from the oven to  a wire rack to cool (I skip this step with a pre-made pie crust).

Meanwhile, heat a deep skillet (I use a small wok), and a splash of vegetable broth over medium-high heat. Add the onion and cook until it is almost translucent. Add the garlic, mushrooms, potatoes, carrots, Worcestershire sauce, thyme, rosemary, black pepper, and the beer. Cover, lower the heat and simmer for 15 minutes.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the broth and the flour. Add the broth mixture to the vegetables along with the seitan; return the heat to medium. Stir and cook until it thickens. Remove from the heat and let cool 10 minutes.

Pour the mixture into the pre-cooked bottom crust.  Place the top crust over the top of the stew; trim, seal, and vent. Bake for 30 to 40 minutes until the crust is golden brown. Let stand a few minutes before serving.

Pie Crust

Ingredients:

1-3/4 cups whole wheat pastry flour

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon granulated sugar

1 cup (2 sticks) non-dairy butter

1/3 cup (plus a splash more) of ice-cold water

Directions:

In a large bowl, mix together the flour, salt, and sugar. Cut in the non-dairy butter and mix well with a pastry tool.

Stir the cold water into the mixture until a large cohesive ball forms. Divide the dough into two, cover and chill in the refrigerator for at least 2 hours.

Roll the dough out on a floured surface with a floured rolling-pin.  Place the rolled out dough in a pie dish, trim to fit, fill and bake according to pie instructions.

6 responses to “♥ Steak And Stout Pie

  1. I seriously doubt that Guinness is vegan and I really muss it. I have never found a good alternative over here. I guess that means that I am coming over for dinner to have some pie and a beer.

  2. Your pie looks fab! 😀

    xoxox
    Kathleen

  3. Funniest line of this post: “I prefer to drink beer that I can see through.” I agree! When it comes to wine, I like it deep red and dry as can be. However, with beer, I have the palate of a fraternity member! (Okay, so maybe not quite since they’re likely not stuffing lime slices into theirs.) This pie sounds so savory and delicious! I have some family members who are eating a plant based diet for a month (hopefully more!), and I think this recipe would really appeal to them.

  4. Exactly! I agree on the wine preference, but I am just not a beer connoisseur. I limit my at-home consumption to Corona Light (with lime) or Amstel Light if I want a “hearty” beer. Ha! You could probably serve this pie to non-veg persons without telling them and they wouldn’t even know, especially if you use a firm seitan (I base this on the fact that J shares leftovers at work with his meat-eating coworkers). I have substituted Morningstar’s Chik’n Strips in this pie, too, and it doesn’t affect the outcome. The “gravy” is just that good! Btw, I hope that they stick with the plant-based diet. If anyone can show them that being veg is not about deprivation, I think that you can!

Leave a Reply

