♥ (It’s Not My) Birthday Cake

Well, I managed to stretch out being “Queen For A Damn Day” for several days. The entire week, in fact. J worked late most nights this week; apparently he is supposed to attend some mandatory training before climbing into the cockpit of a new multimillion dollar jet. Regardless of the fact that his wife has been (self) ordained Queen For A Damn Day Week. Regardless of the fact that he is supposed to bake a birthday cake for the Queen. But, I did receive a nice consolation prize in his absence:

I ♥ Susan Nichole (100% recyclable & vegan) handbags!

So, naturally, I took his absence as license to be completely lazy (hey, it’s good to be the Queen!). I spent most of the week in sweat pants (when I told J that I was wearing Victoria’s Secret, this was so not what he had in mind) and I watched the entire Arrested Development series on DVD while eating “noochy” popcorn for dinner. And I felt obligated to help dispose of the leftovers, too:  chocolate fudge and Irish cream cheesecake. But, all good things must come to an end: a deep, dark and rich chocolate-covered end.

Originally, J was going to make my birthday cake, but when faced with the choice of making the cake or doing the dishes that had piled up while I was playing Queen, I chose making the cake. It is only a *small* exaggeration to say that seagulls were hovering over the sink.

Tomorrow, I will be in my sweats again . . . but instead of basking on the couch I will be on the treadmill. Somehow, my brief reign as Queen has caused my jeans to shrink up a bit in the waistband. Hmmm.

Keep a glass of your favorite non-dairy milk close by when enjoying this cake; you will need it!

♥     ♥     ♥

Perfect Chocolate Cake

(Makes 1 9-inch cake or 34 cupcakes)

Adapted from "Hershey's 1934 Cookbook"

Ingredients:

Perfect Chocolate Cake:

2 cups granulated sugar

1-3/4 cups all-purpose flour, sifted

3/4 cup unsweetened dark cocoa (the recipe calls for Hershey’s cocoa, go figure)

1-1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1-1/2 teaspoons baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

Ener-G egg replacer to equal 2 eggs

1 cup non-dairy milk (I use plain soy or plain coconut milk)

1/2 cup canola oil

2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

1 cup of hot, strong coffee

Perfect Chocolate Frosting:

1/2 cup (1 stick) non-dairy butter

2/3 cup unsweetened dark cocoa

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

3 cups powdered sugar, sifted

1/3 cup non-dairy milk (I use plain soy or plain coconut milk)

Directions:

Pre-heat oven to 350F.  Grease and flour 2 9-inch round (or heart shape) baking pans (or prepare the cupcake papers in the baking tins).

Whisk together the dry ingredients in a large bowl.  Whisk together the egg replacer, non-dairy milk, oil and vanilla extract in a medium bowl. Add the liquid to the dry and beat on medium speed for 2 minutes (this is important, see the note below).

Add the hot coffee and continue to beat just to combine (the batter will be thin.)  Pour the batter immediately into the prepared pans or the cupcake papers (fill the cupcake papers half full). Tap the pans or the tins on the counter to release the air bubbles and place the pans/tins on the middle rack in the pre-heated oven.

Bake 35 to 45 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in the center of the cake comes out clean.  For cupcakes, reduce the cooking time by 1/3 to 1/2 but be sure to check the cupcakes after 25 minutes.  Remove the pans or tins from the oven and let cool 10 minutes before removing from the pans/tins to a wire rack to cool completely before frosting.

To make the frosting, melt the non-dairy butter and beat in the cocoa and the vanilla extract.  Alternately add the powdered sugar and the non-dairy milk, beating on medium speed, to a spreadable consistency.  Add more milk if necessary.

Note: the thinner batter of this cake tends to create a fudgey bottom in each layer of the cake. Mixing the batter for the full two minutes and placing in the oven without delay is important for a consistent cake texture, but I didn’t do that this time due to “doggus interruptus” while making the cake. J says that he likes it better this way. Oh, well: to each their own, eh?

But I am serious about keeping that glass of non-dairy milk handy, because this cake is rich and sweet.

18 responses to “♥ (It’s Not My) Birthday Cake

  1. Nice choice on Arrested Development…I love that show and wish it was still on the air. I’m glad you got your birthday cake, even if you had to make it yourself. Oh well, more for you! 🙂

  2. This may be my favorite birthday post ever! Love the bag, love the cake, love that you lazed around like the Queen that you are! Happy birthday!

  3. Mmm…that is one of the best chocolate cakes I have ever seen.

  4. I really need a bit of that now…please 😉 looks incredible!!!!!

  5. Your cake is GORGEOUS!!! I love how it is in a heart shape. 🙂

  6. That’s so strange about your jean shrinkage! Isn’t it weird how bad laundry luck seems to happen around birthdays and holidays? 😉 This was a very cute birthday post. It looks like you had a wonderful week. I’ve wondered about those Susan Nichole bags. I haven’t picked up one for myself yet, but I’ve been tempted!

  7. Yeah, aren’t all vegans supposed to be skin and bone Kate Moss lookalikes from the lack of protein (blah blah blah)?! I love my new bag; it is made very well and I am not disappointed (and I am a recovering designer bag addict). I signed up for their newsletter at their web page (the link is in the picture) and they e-mail notifications of sales, giveaways and best yet: sample sales (half off purses and wallets that aren’t perfect (but the sample I ordered looked perfect enough to me).

  8. What beautiful swirly frosting on that cake! YUM.

  9. i LOVE the bag but mainly that cake!! AHH That looks delightful!

  10. Pingback: ♥ Irish Cream Cheesecake | it's a Greyt Vegan Life

  11. Pingback: ♥ Irish Car Bomb Birthday Cake | it's a Greyt Vegan Life

Leave a Reply

