♥ The Vegan Baileys Project

There isn’t much from my omnivore days that I miss. I have found suitable (and almost always better) vegan versions of my favorite  goodies from the old days. Except a certain adult beverage that I adored: Baileys Irish Cream. I used to love it over ice as a special treat (dessert in a glass!) or in my hot chocolate after being out in the snow (or rain in the Puget Sound) on a cold day.

I surfed the web and found 2 recipes with potential; and little did I realize how much potential these recipes have! The first recipe I tried–from VegWeb.com–was too rich, in my opinion, for simply drinking over ice. But it is a fantastic  Baileys substitute in cocktails and hot adult beverages that call for Baileys Irish Cream. The second recipe that I tried–from vegalicious.org–was too rich and thick to drink straight, but again, it makes a good Baileys substitute in a variety of drinks. However, this Irish cream recipe (emphasis on the word cream) is even better in desserts, something that I did not originally contemplate. There will definitely be more to come on this very important topic in some future posts!

Following are my takes on the two recipes and my adaptation simply called “Drinking Baileys”. As you can imagine, I had a surplus of Baileys from the recipe testing adventure. I re-purposed empty 32-ounce Noni juice bottles to store the Baileys in, but a Mason jar with a secure lid will work just as well. Whisk or shake the Baileys before using as it does separate out over time.

♥     ♥     ♥

Drinking Baileys

Ingredients:

3/4 cup Irish whiskey (we like Jameson)

2 cups plain unsweetened soymilk

3 Tablespoons chocolate syrup

Instant espresso coffee powder or Starbucks Via powder to taste, optional

Directions:

Mix everything together well; a cocktail  shaker works the best.

This recipe is best for drinking straight and/or over ice.

Store leftover Baileys in the refrigerator.

♥     ♥     ♥

Adult Beverage Baileys

From VegWeb

Ingredients:

3/4 cup Irish whiskey (we like Jameson)

1 pint Silk Hazelnut Creamer

3 Tablespoons chocolate syrup

Directions:

Mix everything together well; a cocktail  shaker works the best.

This recipe is best used for mixed cocktails and hot drinks that call for Baileys, like our Bowl Of Soul.

Store leftover Baileys in the refrigerator.

♥     ♥     ♥

Creamy Baileys

From vegalicious recipes

Ingredients:

1 13.5-ounce can of full fat coconut milk

7 ounces Irish whiskey (we like Jameson)

1-1/2 ounces cold espresso coffee

2 Tablespoons vanilla extract

3 Tablespoons chocolate syrup

Directions:

Mix all ingredients together; a blender works best for this thicker version of Baileys.

Store leftover Baileys in the refrigerator.

12 responses to “♥ The Vegan Baileys Project

  1. So, about that surplus… feel free to send some my way! 😉

    Seriously, thanks so much for this post! I’ve seen similar recipes floating around but have been hesitant to try them. So glad to know I can welcome Baileys back into my life!

  2. Surplus?! Ha ha! I’ve been in a dessert mood lately . . . gee, I wonder what the featured ingredient is going to be? Seriously, I haven’t been this giddy since I discovered Coconut Bliss ice cream!

  3. Pingback: ♥ Bowl Of Soul | it's a Greyt Vegan Life

  4. Pingback: ♥ Irish Cream Cheesecake | it's a Greyt Vegan Life

  5. Pingback: ♥ Dippy Things | it's a Greyt Vegan Life

  6. I like the sound of the creamy Bailey’s the best! I don’t like alcohol in general, but I do have a fondness for sweet liqueurs in my baking and also for drinking once in a while. I might have to try this! I’m actually kind of craving it now.

  7. I’m thinking about making another batch myself! I see some Irish Cream dessert creations in our future. Heck, just dipping fruit in it is pretty darn good! Btw (I haven’t verified), I heard that “authentic” Irish cream has eggs (shudder) in it, besides the cream. Even before I went vegan, the thought of eating/drinking anything from a chicken’s butt grossed me out! 🙂

  8. Just came across this recipe after searching for some vegan baileys for my wife. We will be trying it real soon.

    I am curious about the glass that is pictured above the recipe? Do you know where I can find some of those. Love them.

  9. Pingback: ♥ Irish Car Bomb Birthday Cake | it's a Greyt Vegan Life

  10. Thank you for this, I used the coconut milk recipe but with chicory essence instead of coffee, cocoa powder instead of chocolate sauce, and some brown sugar. YUMYUMYUMY!!!!!

Leave a Reply

