♥ Pizza Night, Part II

We love us some pizza! In honor of Vegan Pizza Day, we posted our own shameless pizza lovin’ photos and recipes and stuffed ourselves silly in the process, too. But wait, there’s more!

I was on a mission to find Teese Vegan Cheese and I am happy to report that I found my supplier: Pizza Pi  Vegan Pizzeria in Seattle’s University District, which is only 65 miles away from us, but our love for pizza knows no bounds! Actually, we were in the area for another reason). And Pizza Pi deserves a shout out here – we were in Sidecar (almost next door) stocking up on vegan goodies and I mentioned that we were stopping at Pizza Pi next and the clerk informed me that they wouldn’t be open for another hour. The owner (I think) happened to be in Sidecar at that moment and he offered to let me in and sell me some Teese cheese. I was so grateful that I bought an armload!

So, we enjoyed cheese on our pizzas for the first time in years, I think. Straight out of the package, the Teese tasted only slightly better than Vegan Gourmet mozzarella. But, it melts beautifully and it tastes so much better melted on the pizza. We loved it – even the girl, the harshest resident critic of all things vegan.

This is my favorite pizza: an olive oil base on our favorite dough with Italian seasoning and crushed red chili peppers, fresh sliced tomatoes, fresh garlic, fresh basil, fresh sliced mushrooms and Kalamata olives with about 5 ounces of ooey gooey Teese Cheese melted on top of it:

And the classic pizza with our favorite pizza sauce, fresh sliced tomatoes, sun-dried tomatoes, fresh garlic, fresh basil, fresh sliced mushrooms, Kalamata olives and sliced red onion. And, of course, another 5 ounces of Teese Cheese:

J even made his version of a Hawaiian Pizza with the leftover dough, crushed pineapple and Yves Canadian Bacon slices:

So, are you hungry yet? 🙂

7 responses to “♥ Pizza Night, Part II

  1. Thanks for sharing…didn’t even know it was almost vegan pizza day! Now i have to make a pizza…I haven’t seen Teese around here and Vegan Gourmet was my favorite until I discovered Daiya Cheese http://www.daiyafoods.com/ soy free and tastes great…oh yeah, it melts too! I have to find the Teese to try it for comparison! you’re pizza looks great..and btw…I’m jealous you live in the Pacific NW! =)

  2. Daiya is our go-to favorite for grilled cheese sandwiches, quesadillas, mac and cheese, etc. But we never really liked it on our pizzas because it never melted properly (I think Daiya melts better with moderate heat and a longer cooking time) and the taste was too strong. But, we LOVE the Teese on the pizzas. It melted and stretched (just like they claim) and it has a mild taste. If you can find it, try it!

    I love living in the Puget Sound and I am going to miss it when we move (in the next month or so). But, we are moving to the Tahoe area, so don’t feel too sorry for me! 🙂

  3. your post worked…thanks for letting me know about that..I’m going to look for the teese today!

  4. The pizzas look wonderful! They look good enough to travel to Seattle from NJ!! Thanks for the info on the various vegan cheeses. They’re not too easy to find here, but I got there website info and I think I might be able to order on line. Thanks, again!
    Fran

    • Broken Cookies Don’t Count – tee hee! Before Daiya went mainstream, I was ordering 5 pound bags of it online (to justify the shipping cost) and then vacuum sealing it in individual 6-ounce packages to store in the freezer. Luckily, you wouldn’t have to do that with the Teese (it comes in a 10-ounce tube) and it should keep well in the freezer, too. I’ve been able to freeze every other brand of vegan cheese that I have stocked up on so far and I can’t imagine that Teese is any different in that respect. I’m pretty stoked: I see calzones in our future again!

  5. I did not realize you lived close by! I’m in Bellevue. Yep, we are so totally spoiled in this area. I live so close to Sidecar, but I hardly ever go there because I can get so many vegan items at my local PCC or Whole Foods. My husband and I did “date night” at Pizza Pi this summer and it was great. My favorite was their cashew cheese though, it was tangy and rich and delicious! Loved that they had nutritional yeast shakers on the tables!

    My go-to pizza cheese has always been Vegan Gourmet Mozzarella and I’ve never bought Tease. I did try Daiya which was okay in moderation. I agree that the taste is a little strong (and too salty for me) but it was good in a quesadilla with some green chilis and black beans. But as far as vegan cheese goes, less taste is more! I’ll have to go to Sidecar one of these days and pick up some Tease.

    Your pizzas look wonderful!

    • Yep – we are in Anacortes, but only for the next 4 to 6 weeks (boo!). I always hit “The Pig Place” before Whole Foods in Bellevue because 1) their profits go to the pig sanctuary and 2) I always like to support an all vegan store. But, I can totally understand why you wouldn’t want to fight the traffic! The 520: ugh!

      Now you have me craving some Pizza Pi (cashew cheese: swoon!)!

Leave a Reply

