♥ Superfood Smoothie

I woke up today feeling a bit stuffy and my throat was scratchy. I’m not sick; but I’m not feeling quite right, either. So I made my favorite pick-me-up smoothie for breakfast. This smoothie is loaded with superfood goodness like antioxidants and Vitamin C. It also provides a healthy dose of Vitamin B-12 from the spirulina, especially important to the vegan diet.

I’ve been on a green tea kick lately. Aside from having a hot cuppa in the afternoon, I have found that it is good in other ways, too. Cooked rice, sorbet, and now: smoothies. The girl likes to drink green tea over ice, too, so I keep a  brewed pitcher of it in the refrigerator for our daily “green”.

It’s easy to have a freezer full of berries when you live in the Skagit Valley.  The berry stand is the iconic symbol of summer in these parts and berry stands are conveniently located along the main thoroughfares throughout the valley. Every year, I get a “wee” bit carried away and I buy many (MANY) flats of assorted berries–strawberry, blueberry and raspberry–and freeze them for jam, yogurt, desserts and smoothies. It always cracks me up to see the flats of blackberries available for sale, too. Around here, blackberry plants are invasive and they grow everywhere. I don’t mind them, though; I simply don the long sleeves and harvest blackberries myself from the perimeter of our yard (and I will miss that luxury when we move out of  the area!).

I love the deep purple color of this smoothie from the dark berries and the green spirulina. Don’t let the “briny” odor of the spirulina put you off; you will never taste it with the sweet fruits and the touch of agave nectar. The smoothie is wonderfully sweet and satisfying and, bonus, you can knock out a few servings of fruit and almost half your dietary fiber requirement by 10:00 a.m.!

♥     ♥     ♥

Berry Green Tea Smoothie

Serves 2

Ingredients:

1/2 cup brewed green tea, room temperature (preferable chilled)

1/2 cup of plain yogurt or soy milk (I use homemade yogurt)

1 ripe banana

1 Tablespoon chia seeds (or 2 Tablespoons flaxseed meal)

2 to 4 Tablespoons hemp protein powder

1 Tablespoon spirulina powder

1/2 cup frozen blueberries

1/2 cup frozen cranberries

1/2 cup frozen blackberries

6 whole frozen strawberries

1/2 to 1 Tablespoon organic agave nectar

Directions:

Place all ingredients in the blender in the order listed.

Blend until smooth and serve immediately.

6 responses to “♥ Superfood Smoothie

  1. Thank you so much for this recipe, it sounds very yummy and healthy! Plis… I love smoothies!

  2. Wow… I can’t wait to try this smoothie and make it for my family… I love all those dark berries… Does hemp have flavor to it??? I would think it would be extremely high in fiber…

    I have been drinking a juice that is a combination of gala apples, lemon, kale and ginger… It’s a great pick me up drink!!!

    • Your drink sounds wonderful! I love kale – I think it is a veggie totally under-appreciated in its time!

      The hemp that I have doesn’t have much of a flavor (or odor) and you won’t notice it in the smoothie. 1 serving (4 tablespoons) of the hemp protein powder has 36% of your daily fiber requirement (and that’s before you add in the fiber-rich fruits!), all 10 essential amino acids and is a good source of the essential fatty acids: Omega-3 and 6. Half of this smoothie recipe, made with chia seeds instead of the flaxmeal and just 2 tablespoons of the hemp protein powder, has 11 grams (44%) of fiber, 11 grams of protein, and the following daily values: 15% calcium, 30% iron, 40% Vitamin C and 185% Vitamin A. Wow! [I used http://www.nutritiondata.com to calculate the recipe]

  3. Pingback: ♥ Homemade Yogurt! | it's a Greyt Vegan Life

  4. Pingback: ♥ My Favorite Mistake | it's a Greyt Vegan Life

Leave a Reply

