♥ Tis The Sugar Season!

I thought it would be appropriate to begin this blog with the  cookie recipe that started it all. After all, it is December: the month of cookies and all things sugary.

The first few years of our life together,  J was gone (as in the ‘deployed halfway around the world’ kind of gone) more than he was home. While he was away, I mailed him bi-weekly care packages that always included his favorite cookies: white & semi-sweet chocolate chip macadamia nut cookies. Over time, my cookies became world famous, literally! My sister Rachael dubbed the cookies  “Man Gettin’ Cookies”…and the name stuck.

But then we went vegan…and J went into cookie withdrawal. So, I began the task  (more like a labor of love, really) of “veganizing” our recipe collection. Life is uncertain, so we started with the sweet treats first.

My good friend, Karen ( a goddess in her own right), gave me this recipe that I  have tweaked over the years:  I swapped half of the semi-sweet chips for white chocolate chips and I used macadamia nuts, rather than walnuts. Lately, I have been using whole wheat pastry flour,  which has a bit more fiber than all-purpose flour, and it doesn’t seem to affect the flavor of the cookies. I reduced the oven temperature a bit, too, to accommodate the gooey nature of the homemade white chocolate chunks.

Here they are, the world-famous Man Gettin’ Cookies – the new and improved vegan version. This recipe is easily doubled–as Karen’s original recipe was–if you are baking for an entire squadron.

♥     ♥     ♥

Man Gettin’ Cookies

Makes about 3 dozen cookies

Ingredients:

1 cup (2 sticks) softened non-dairy butter (I prefer Earth Balance)

1 cup granulated sugar

1 cup brown sugar

EnerG Egg Replacer to equal 2 eggs (flax goop is a good substitute, too)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2-3/4 cups whole wheat pastry flour

1-1/2 cups whole oats

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

6 ounces semi-sweet chocolate chips (true semi-sweet chocolate does not contain dairy)

6 ounces white chocolate chips or homemade white chocolate chunks

3/4 cup chopped macadamia nuts

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350F.

In a large bowl, cream the butter with the sugars, then beat in the egg replacer and the vanilla extract.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, oats, baking soda, baking powder and salt.

Add the flour mixture to the butter mixture; combine well.  Stir in the chocolate chips and the nuts (it may be necessary to use your hands to really mix it all together).

Spoon 1/4 cup (or more for larger cookies) of the dough onto un-greased baking sheets and slightly press the dough flat.  Bake 12 minutes.

Remove the baking sheet from the oven to a wire rack and let the cookies rest a few minutes before removing them from the baking sheet to the wire rack to cool completely.  If necessary, use the spatula to gently re-shape the cookies while cooling (the homemade white chocolate chunks melt a bit more than  the commercial white chocolate chips).

Store the cooled cookies in a tightly sealed container.

4 responses to “♥ Tis The Sugar Season!

  1. I love the title of this post. You are so right.. tis the season for sugar and cookies. Very nice recipe

  2. Thank you for the compliment AND for being my first-ever comment!

  3. Christina! What a fun read, I’m inspired and I am definitely a true dairy lovin gal. Way to go!

  4. Psssst, Jana – I haven’t had a single sinus infection since I gave up dairy. I used to have about four a year, but I’m sure you remember those fun times! But, yes: giving up dairy is tough, at least the first month or so. After that, the monkey is off your back!

Leave a Reply

