♥ Irish Colcannon

So much for my New Year’s resolutions. Yep, I’m back to being a lazy blogger. Ah, well. I did make it back and that’s what counts. And just in time for Saint Patrick’s Day leftovers. March 17th is J’s day (er, excuse) to celebrate all things beer and his perennial favorite, corned beef and cabbage. Myself, I prefer to celebrate the Irish whiskey cake. :)

This year, I resurrected a favorite old recipe for this year’s potato side dish: Irish Colcannon. Colcannon is traditionally served at Halloween with charms such as a ring (marriage), a coin (wealth), a button (bachelorhood), a thimble (spinsterhood) and a tiny horseshoe (good luck) stirred into the Colcannon.  The recipients of each charm would benefit accordingly. Whatever the tradition and significance attached to Colcannon, it’s a wonderfully flavorful side dish. The kale and the cabbage in the potato dish bring just the right amount of green to the Saint Patrick’s Day table.

The Colcannon is even better the next day with leftover corned beef, diced, and the corned beef gravy drizzled over the top.

♥     ♥     ♥

Irish Colcannon

Ingredients:

2 pounds yellow potatoes, diced

1/2 Tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil

1 yellow onion, chopped

1 leek (white part only), rinsed and chopped

3 cups green cabbage, chopped

3 cups frozen kale, thawed

2 garlic cloves, minced

1/2 teaspoon sea salt

1 teaspoon ground black pepper

1/4 cup nondairy butter

1 to 1-1/4 cups soy milk

Directions:

Place the potatoes in a saucepan with enough cold water to cover. Bring to a boil; reduce the heat to medium-low and simmer until tender, about 20 minutes.

While the potatoes are cooking, heat the oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add the onion, leek, and cabbage; sauté until softened. Add the kale, garlic, salt and pepper. Continue to cook until tender; remove from heat.

Drain the potatoes and return to the pot. Stir in the kale and cabbage mixture. Heat the nondairy butter in 1 cup of the soy milk in the microwave and pour over the potatoes. Mash with a potato masher, adding more soy milk if necessary. Check the seasoning and serve hot.

♥     ♥     ♥

Here it is, the best for last. And the absolute best use for leftover corned beef (in fact, I always double the corned beef recipe to ensure leftovers): the mighty Reuben sandwich. The king of all sandwiches, really. Teese mozzarella cheese, Bubbies sauerkraut, sliced red onion and homemade Thousand Island dressing between two layers of corned beef on dark rye bread from the bread machine. Oh, how I love thee, Reuben!

9 responses to “♥ Irish Colcannon

  1. Colcannon with cabbage, kale AND leek? I’m in love! This is the version I’m making next year. And yes, you gotta love Reuben the Great! :)

  2. I’m with Veronica, all of those ingredients = yum!

  3. Yum, Reuben sandwich! :-)

  4. People in Ireland must have swallowed carefully for fear of swallowing a penny, horseshoe, ring, button or thimble. “Honey, will you get the special ingredient out of my sewing kit?”

    I heartily approve of cabbage, kale, and leek all taking part in your colcannon. Why choose? I’ve never tried Vegan Dad’s corned beef, but it looks delicious. Plus, I like that he uses chickpeas in the mix. Chickpeas in a reuben with sauerkraut? It’s like a who’s who of my favorite things!

    • Ha ha! I read somewhere that the “maidens” who found the ring in their colcannon would hang socks of the colcannon on their doorknobs and the next male to enter the house would be their intended. I’d hate to have to hand wash that dirty laundry! Personally, I’d rather just eat the colcannon.

      If you haven’t figured it out by now, I really recommend Vegan Dad’s corned beef! It’s definitely a keeper recipe. The only missing of my favorite ingredients in that sandwich is chocolate, but I can’t see how that would work…

  5. Pingback: True At Last Light « Aware of the Void

  6. Hi,

    I have a quick question about your blog, do you think you could email me?

    Jillian

Leave a Reply

