♥ An Eggless Easter

The Easter Bunny came early this year! I grew tired of hearing J whine about giving up Marshmallow Peeps and Cadbury Eggs, so I arranged for a special delivery in time for Easter. And I am now the “coolest wife ever” (thanks, J).

Pictured above are Skipper The Bunny and Peepers The Chick from Sweet & Sara with two chocolate cream-filled Good Eggs from Rescue Chocolate. All vegan and all-delicious! Be forewarned, though: if you leave Peepers on the counter all day in a sunny kitchen, his color made fade a bit. That’s okay, though. It’s always better to eat a faded yellow (but naturally derived) colored treat than a glow-in-the-dark  FD&C yellow created in a laboratory! As if eating vegan treats doesn’t make you feel good enough, Rescue Chocolate donates 100% of net profits to animal rescue organizations around the country. How cool is that?!

♥     ♥     ♥

Just because we don’t eat eggs anymore doesn’t mean that we have given up omelets. In my previous egg-eating life, I was never able to make a perfect omelet. And, nothing has changed in the years that we have been vegan, either: my omelets still are not perfect!

To make the perfect omelet, according to those in the know, a non-stick skillet is essential. I am a bit phobic about using a non-stick skillet, and I only cook with cast-iron skillets if I can help it. So, in exchange for not breathing in potentially toxic fumes while I cook, I am willing to serve the less-than-perfect looking omelet. The taste, however, is perfect enough!

Practice makes (almost) perfect. If not perfect, just add salsa or more cheese to hide the “imperfections”!

I owe the inspiration for my go-to omelet recipe to both FatFree Vegan Kitchen and Vegan Comfort Food. Cooking times and oil amounts specified are approximate. It may be necessary to adjust both for your skillet choice and other variables that I have encountered in my (almost perfect) omelet quest, such as burner fuel type and altitude.

I make my omelets in a well-seasoned 10-inch cast iron skillet with a lid. Lately, we’ve been using grated homemade pepperjack cheese from the Ultimate Uncheese Cookbook, instead of Daiya, our always on-hand cheese choice.

♥     ♥     ♥

Eggless Omelet

Makes 3 omelets

Ingredients:

Extra-virgin olive oil

Filling Ingredients:

1-1/2 cups sliced mushrooms

3/4 cup green onions, diced

3 cups fresh baby spinach (about half of a 5-ounce package)

1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon crushed red chili peppers, optional

3/4 cup fresh tomato, diced

about 3/4 cup Daiya cheddar or pepperjack style shreds

Omelet Ingredients:

1 12.3-ounce box of “lite” firm or extra firm silken tofu

1 Tablespoon tahini

2 Tablespoons non-dairy milk or creamer

1/4 teaspoon curry powder

1/4 teaspoon turmeric

1/2 teaspoon onion powder

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 teaspoon Indian black salt (Kala Namak)

2 Tablespoons garbanzo bean flour

2 Tablespoons nutritional yeast

Directions:

Warm 1/2 to 1 tablespoon of olive oil in a 10 to 12-inch skillet (with a fitted lid) over medium heat. Add the mushrooms and the green onions and cook until the mushrooms begin to give off their liquid; then add the spinach and place the lid on the skillet. Cook until the spinach is wilted and a vibrant green. Season with the crushed red chili peppers, if using, and remove the vegetables from the skillet to a plate. Wipe the skillet clean with a paper towel.

Meanwhile, place all the omelet ingredients in a blender and process until smooth. I use a stick blender; it’s easier to measure out the omelet batter that way.

Warm 1 to 2 tablespoons of olive oil in the same skillet over medium heat. Pour a third ( about 1/2 cup) of the omelet batter into the hot skillet and smooth with a silicon spatula or wooden spoon. Cover the pan and cook for about 2 minutes.

Sprinkle one-third of the cheese over one half of the omelet. Spoon one-third of the cooked vegetable filling and one-third of the diced tomatoes over the cheese. Fold the omelet over and continue to cook, covered, an extra 5 minutes or until nicely browned. Periodically lift the lid and loosen the edges of the omelet with a spatula while cooking.

When the omelet is done, gently lift (or slide) the omelet onto a plate. Serve immediately or keep warm in the oven until ready to serve. Repeat the cooking procedure for the next two omelets.

To serve, garnish with salsa (J’s favorite) or green pepper sauce (my favorite).

♥     ♥     ♥

We don’t have the standard chicks and bunnies at our house for Easter, but we do have regular visitors of the bird . . .

and (cute) rodent variety, nonetheless!

In closing, here’s a sneak peek at tomorrow’s brunch dessert: mini lemon pound cakes. Sunshine on a plate . . . oh, my!

16 responses to “♥ An Eggless Easter

  1. Great finds! I haven’t had Easter candy for many years, but looking at your little peepers and chocolate egg makes my nostalgic.

    The omelette looks awesome…I agree, never mind it being perfectly shaped, it’s the taste that counts.

  2. Funny, I never cared for either candy as a kid. But, it does take you back, doesn’t it? As for the omelets, I am getting better. I once made only “scrambles” (i.e. massacred omelets), but now my eggless creations look like omelets. Sometimes sloppy omelets, but definitely not scrambles!

  3. That omelet recipe looks fantastic! I’ve bookmarked it!

    Last year was my first vegan Easter (um, we’re Buddhists, it was really about the candy) and my husband made me an Easter basket with vegan chocolate, plastic eggs and cupcakes and cookies from Babycakes. YUM!

    • What a fantastic Easter basket! He’s a keeper! We have never “celebrated” Easter, either. I agree: it’s all about the candy! And brunch. Although, I never really cared for the Standard American Diet kind of brunch anyway. . .

      Btw, if you do use a non-stick skillet, you will definitely want to reduce the oil!

  4. I love Rescue chocolate — gave some to my son and his gf to take on the road to San Francisco. I’ve never had the “eggs” though. I feel like you do about non-stick, though I do have one pan for occasional use. The only problem is it’s in Wisconsin, so I haven’t used it for two years. I use cast iron and it works really well. Your omelet looks impressive, as does the lemon cake.

  5. That chocolate was divine (notice I used the past tense, because it is all gone!). I will definitely be a repeat customer. The lemon pound cake tastes quite good, but the appearance disappointed me a bit (I may need to make another “test batch” :) ). Oh, how I miss baking at sea level!!

  6. Way to go with the candy – and the donations to animal rescue really puts a smile on our faces on a day that isn’t traditionally kind to certain animals. Since starting the transition from veggie to vegan, I haven’t tackled an egg dish for breakfast, so this might give me the courage to give it a shot. As far as how it looks after taking a cast iron beating, it looks great – lovely pics as usual. We’re behind J 100% on the salsa, too.
    Can’t wait to hear more ’bout the pound cake!

  7. Forget the rest of the post, I can’t even remember it after that pound cake pic! ;) That’s great you found some Easter replacement treats! I bet you can make them on your own too, but I do enjoy buying things instead of making them myself at times. Have you ever made vegan marshmallows? I know it’s possible but it seems like there’s some strange ingredient in there. Can’t remember. Anyway, if you made them, you could just cut them out of the pan you spread them in with a chick cutter and dip them in colored sugar! Oh, and I suck at omelets but yours actually looks really pretty to me! One of my favorite vegan meals is a tofu scramble (http://reciperhapsody.wordpress.com/2010/08/23/garam-masala-tofu-scramble/) but I’ve never tried to do an omelet with tofu. Since I suck at them, I would probably just turn this into a scramble too! Oh, and your critters are adorable!!!

  8. I’ve never made vegan marshmallows, but a friend passed me a recipe to “veganize” (hmmmm, next Easter’s project? :) ) The recipe is mostly sugar and corn syrup. The only difference that I can tell is that you would sub plant gelatin for animal gelatin (boiled hooves and ligaments and tendons? No thanks!) I always hated Peeps (and I never really liked marshmallows, either) so I didn’t expect these vegan Peepers to be much better. Boy, was I wrong! They were fantastic, actually! Btw, most of my omelets are ugly and “scramble like” because I refuse to use a non-stick skillet!

  9. Your omelet looks pretty darn good to me! I haven’t used a non-skillet pan in years, cast iron is totally the way to go. Next year I’m going to have to remember to order some of those Easter candy, they look great! :-)

  10. I’m with you on staying away from non-stick skillets. I use stainless steel. I tried cast iron for a while, and I just never perfected the proper upkeep with the oiling after every use. I find it so much easier to throw stainless steel in the dishwasher. When I transitioned to stainless steel it initially took some getting used to, because I’d grown accustomed to a non-stick surface. I sometimes have to add more liquid to the pan to keep food from sticking. Now the only non-stick surface I have is on my waffle-maker. Since I only make waffles a few times a year, it seems like the risk is manageable.

    Your omelet looks great! I bought black salt at the same time I purchased Vegan Brunch since Isa uses it in some of her recipes. However, I still haven’t tried it. I’ll have to give it a whirl!

  11. Once you try the black salt, you will wonder how you lived so long without it! Personally, I think that black salt and garbanzo flour are essential for a good “eggy” dish.

    Confession time: I don’t oil my cast iron after every use. And I wash them with soap and water (gasp!) and dry them on a hot burner. Sometimes I wipe them with oil after they cool. If I remember. I may get kicked out of the cast iron club for this! I’m with ya on the waffle maker. I drag it out three or four times a year. And the occasional cake and muffin pan, too. It isn’t a perfect, fume-free world!

  12. Your omelette looks perfect! You know I always make tofu scrambles which the family loves but have yet to make a tofu omellete. I just put that on my to do list for this weekend!

    That lemon loaf looks unbelievably delicious!!!!

Leave a Reply

