♥ KFC: Kentucky Fried Copycat

I think I can count on one hand all the times that I ate at Kentucky Fried Chicken. Frankly, I don’t miss it (and neither does my ass). But, if I ever thought that I missed eating such “delicacies” as chicken tenders (or the infamous chicken nuggets), this information on pressed meat products–or Mechanically Separated Meats–relieved me of that misconception straight away!

That being said, I will just come out with it: I ♥  Sarah Kramer! There are many reasons to love her, but at the top of the list is our favorite WT (hee hee) recipe in La Dolce Vegan: Jay-Lo’s Fried “Chicken”.

It’s crazy how tasty these “chicken” pieces are. The breading is reminiscent of fried chicken and the “chicken” is moist and tender, unlike the meat part of typical chicken nuggets and chicken fingers (which I always thought were dry and bland). And unlike typical chicken nuggets and chicken tenders, no dipping sauces are required to enhance the flavor. These little beauties are wonderful as is. And buried under gravy. And as cold finger food the next morning.

J loves his mashed potatoes and country gravy. And this fried “chicken” goes beautifully with both. And a side of coleslaw. And barbecue baked beans. And best of all: no drive-through required*!

I make the Basic Instant Gluten (doubled so that J has leftovers for lunch) and the Faux Chicken Flavoring according to the recipe. For Jay-Lo’s Fried “Chicken”, I use whole wheat flour and I double the breading/flour ingredients and the soy milk. Then I double the paprika again (and I use smoked paprika; I love smoked paprika!) in the breading recipe.

While the “chicken” is frying, ready the Country Gravy ingredients:

4-1/2 Tablespoons of whole wheat flour (I use the leftover breading/flour mixture and add more flour, if necessary, to make 4-1/2 tablespoons)

1 teaspoon onion powder

3/4 teaspoon ground black pepper

1/2 teaspoon sea salt

2 cups of soy milk (I use the leftover dipping milk plus enough milk to make 2 cups)

When the “chicken” pieces are fried, reduce the burner temperature to medium and remove the “chicken” pieces to a plate lined with paper towels. Place the plate in the oven, set on the lowest temperature, to keep warm.

Whisk the flour and the seasonings into the oil and drippings in the “chicken”  frying skillet. Gradually whisk in the soy milk and continue to whisk and cook until  the gravy is thickened.  Serve immediately.

♥     ♥     ♥

Vegan “KFC” Copycat Coleslaw

Ingredients:

1 medium head of green cabbage, quartered and thinly sliced

1 green bell pepper, finely diced

1 red bell pepper, finely diced

1 sweet onion, finely diced

2 large carrots, grated

3/4 cup Vegenaise (J likes a tablespoon of horseradish stirred into his coleslaw dressing; sometimes I oblige him)

3 Tablespoons canola oil

3 Tablespoons granulated sugar

2 Tablespoons Bragg Apple Cider Vinegar

1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

Directions:

Chop the vegetables and place in a large bowl.

In a separate bowl or measuring glass, whisk together the Vegenaise, oil, sugar, vinegar and black pepper. Fold into the coleslaw and mix well to coat.

Refrigerate for several hours before serving.

* Disclaimer: this is not a low-calorie meal. But, it is certainly lower in calories, sodium and fat than the typical meal-in-a-box that we have replicated. Bonus: our version has no cholesterol, pesticides, antibiotics or growth hormones. And no chickens had to die, either.

13 responses to “♥ KFC: Kentucky Fried Copycat

  1. Sometimes crispy fried things just hit the spot. These “fingers” sound great…and I love the look of that cole slaw. Yummers.

  2. Sounds like the perfect spread for either a Sunday brunch or a spring picnic to me! Actually, maybe both at once… Oh, if only it was supposed to be warm and sunny this weekend!

  3. Wow, homemade chik’n!! And no soy! Whodda thunk it? Loves. KFC coleslaw is my favorite, but yours is much prettier!

  4. That explains it; I suffer from the same “affliction”! When I was Googling “KFC copycat slaw recipes” I was a bit horrified to see the sugar quantities (and types). I don’t think that I am going too far out on a limb when I boldly declare my version healthier (such that it is) than KFC’s!

  5. Pingback: ♥ Memorial Day . . . In Snow Boots | it's a Greyt Vegan Life

  6. Pingback: ♥ Hot Diggity Dogs! | it's a Greyt Vegan Life

  7. Pingback: ♥ Grilled Vegetable Kebabs | it's a Greyt Vegan Life

  8. Pingback: ♥ Beer And Molasses Barbecue Sauce | it's a Greyt Vegan Life

  9. Pingback: Vegan KFC Fried Chicken Retro KFC Style Sandwiches Double… | VeganBlog.org

Leave a Reply

