♥ Irish Cream Cheesecake

Having a birthday the same week as Valentine’s Day means that you rake in twice as many gifts. It also means twice the gift-giving stress for the romance-challenged male! But this year, Valentine’s Day was relatively easy on J since I all but picked out the gift myself. The only surprise was the type of animal (a sweet boy goat named Justin) that J sponsored in my name.

For my birthday, J did something unbelievably sweet (or totally unimaginative, depending upon how you look at it. I choose the former!). He sponsored another animal at Farm Sanctuary: a young male sheep named Colvin. I was truly surprised and touched – two farm animals in one week. I couldn’t be any more thrilled about my gifts if I were Laura Ingalls Wilder herself!

Its another boy!

Since J is working late all week, I have yet to collect on my traditional chocolate birthday cake, specially made (and specially messy in the kitchen, too!) by the man. But, with all the leftover Baileys Irish Cream on hand from my recent Vegan Baileys Project, we aren’t lacking for sweet treats around here. What did we do with all that extra Irish cream, you ask? Why, cheesecake of course! There are some beautiful “omni” cheesecake recipes out there (like this recipe!), but, obviously, that isn’t how we roll (anymore)!

I played with this recipe a bit; apparently the third time is the charm! The recipe that I am posting is perfect for a 9 inch springform pan. I tried two different baking methods and decided that I prefer the baking method from Sinfully Vegan for the creamiest cheesecake texture. Be forewarned, though: if you divide the mixture between two 4-1/2 inch springform pans and a 9 inch springform pan–as I did this last time–you will want to reduce the baking time accordingly (as I did not do – doh!). The mini cheesecakes were baked a smidge too long, but they tasted fantastic nonetheless.

We tried various cheesecake garnishes as we taste-tested our experimental cakes: chocolate syrup, chocolate shavings and extra Irish cream, too. All were quite good. It only occurred to me after the last cheesecakes were baked and cooling in the refrigerator that adding a few tablespoons of Irish cream to the sour cream topping mixture would have been really tasty. Oh well: next time, I suppose!

♥     ♥     ♥

Irish Cream Cheesecake

Ingredients:

Cheesecake Crust:

1-1/2 cups crushed vegan graham crackers (in a pinch I use Cinnamon Teddy Grahams)

1/4 cup dark cocoa powder

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup (1 stick) non-dairy butter Earth Balance, melted

Cheesecake Filling:

1 cup granulated sugar

1/4 cup tapioca flour

3 8-ounce containers non-hydrogenated vegan cream cheese, softened

1 12-ounce package firm or extra firm silken tofu, drained

1 teaspoon vanilla bean paste (or pure vanilla extract)

1 cup Creamy Baileys Irish cream recipe (from vegalicious.org)

Cheesecake Topping:

1 12-ounce container (1-1/2 cups) non-dairy sour cream

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla bean paste (or pure vanilla extract)

A couple of tablespoons of extra Irish cream, optional

Directions:

To make the crust: Process the graham crackers into fine crumbs in the food processor. Add the cocoa and the sugar, pulse again and remove to a medium bowl. Add the melted non-dairy butter and stir to combine. Press the mixture into the bottom and halfway up the sides of a 9-inch springform pan.

Pre-heat the oven to 375° F.

To make the cheesecake filling: Whisk the sugar and the tapioca flour together in a small bowl. Place the softened cream cheese and the tofu in the food processor; process until completely smooth. Add the sugar/tapioca mixture and process again, making sure that it is completely smooth and that there are no lumps. Add the vanilla bean paste and the Irish cream; pulse to combine. Scrape down the sides of the processor and pulse again.

Pour the cheesecake filling into the prepared springform pan and place it in the oven on the upper middle rack. Place a shallow broiler pan of water underneath the cheesecake pan on a lower rack and bake for 50 minute. Meanwhile, prepare the cheesecake topping.

To make the cheesecake topping:

Combine all the ingredients in the food processor and pulse to combine. Scrape down the sides of the processor and pulse to combine again. Take the cheesecake out of the oven after 50 minutes and pour the prepared topping over the cheesecake. Return the cheesecake to the oven and bake an extra 10 minutes. Turn the oven off and leave the cheesecake in the oven for another hour.

Cool the cheesecake on a wire rack and then chill completely in the refrigerator  for at least 8 hours or overnight (my preference).

Slice and garnish each serving with chocolate curls, a drizzle of extra Irish cream and/or chocolate syrup. Enjoy!

37 responses to “♥ Irish Cream Cheesecake

  1. what a great bday present! and what a beautiful looking dessert! YUM! =)

  2. So glad to’ve found yer blog – it’s goin’ in the blog roll for sure!! My girlfriend has been veggie for 19 years and recently went vegan. I’ve been veggie for just a few months and love it. We volunteer at a local farm sanctuary. The new lifestyle compelled me to start a blog about a month ago and it really feels like a lot of good synchronicity going on. Oh, yeah – AND my birthday is the same week as Valentine’s Day, too.
    I’m totes puttin’ my team of tiny, plastic co-writers on this cheesecake recipe – thanks for posting!

  3. ahh oh my gosh!! i LOVE LOVE cheesecake and was wondering how to make it vegan!

  4. That slice of cheesecake is presented so beautifully! I love it. Happy Birthday!

  5. This looks delicious, thanks! There’s something about vegan cheesecake that almost makes it sound…healthy. Less guilt after eating a slice perhaps? Very nice presentation. Mike

  6. Your praise of my presentation is a real compliment – thank you! Vegan cheesecake definitely carries less guilt with it (on so many levels!). Bonus, no lactose intolerance or sinus congestion, either!

  7. I didn’t know it was possible to make a vegan cheesecake. Thanks for the recipe!

  8. Your Irsih Cream Cheesecake sounds AMAZING!!!! I love how it is Dairy Free! :D

  9. Thank you! We have been enjoying the heck out of it around here! Dairy free = no pain (but sorry, it still has calories)!

  10. I’ve been looking for some tasty treats that actually aren’t bad for you. Thanks.

  11. Haha, my birthday is near Valentine’s Day too…but my husband takes this to mean that he can get me one present for both holidays :-P Your cheesecake looks delicious!

  12. I would divorce him if I were you! Just kidding; I would just buy my own present with HIS money! :)

  13. Pingback: ♥ (It’s Not My) Birthday Cake | it's a Greyt Vegan Life

  14. You had me at Irish Cream Cheesecake… but when I was it was vegan I was even more excited!

  15. Ha ha! Whomever said that being vegan is about deprivation has obviously never visited MY house!

  16. I really appreciate you sharing this Irish Cream Cheesecake. This looks absolutely amazing and I love the recipe.

  17. I’m in the process of making this Irish Cream Cheesecake. I have a question, though: How set should it be when the baking and sitting in the oven is finished? I’ve never made cheesecake, vegan or otherwise, so I’ve no experience with the process. I just went to take mine out of the cooled oven to finish the cooling process, and the topping was still quite liquid (tasted great, though). I ended up turning the temp up to 425 and putting it in for another ~40 minutes (It’s in there now…I’ll check it every 10 minutes or so to make sure it’s not overdone). I’m at altitude, so I know this changes the times/temps. I don’t mind a little experimentation, but I wondered what exactly I’m looking for as far as a cooking endpoint goes.

    Thanks so much!
    -CJ

    • I’ve been making cheesecakes longer than I care to recall (omni and vegan). Cheesecakes are always a bit “jiggly” in the center when removed from the oven and it always worries me and I’m always tempted to bake them longer. The cheesecake is the dessert that requires some faith in your baking abilities! However, they firm up quite well when refrigerated overnight.

      But yours is too runny in the center after baking for an hour at 375F and leaving in the oven (after shutting it off) for that extra hour, too? Did you use the pan of water in the oven? Did you use the same ingredients and the same amounts as listed in the recipe? I tested this recipe three times and the first try I screwed up and set the oven to 350F (instead of 375) and I panicked and baked it longer, too. It collapsed a bit in the center when I cut into it, but it was still very, very good. The family ate the whole thing; it just wasn’t picture pretty!

      I’m baking at about 30 feet above sea level here in a newer gas oven. Maybe it is an altitude thing? Let me know how else I can help; this cheesecake is too yummy to give up on!

  18. Oh, I’m definitely not giving up on it!

    We’re at about 5500 feet. I’ve not had too much trouble with the altitude thing, except when making popovers. Based on the consistency of cheesecake, I wouldn’t be surprised if there were some altitude issues. I probably should have set the temp 25 higher to start with.

    The only change I made to the recipe was to use GF graham cracker crumbs for the crust (actually cinnamon snaps). And I think my springform pan is bigger than 9 inches.

    It’s good to know, though, that even if I mess it up and overcook it, it’ll still taste good (it just won’t be pretty…I don’t mind yummy ugly food).

  19. I hope the cheesecake was salvageable! Like I said, I didn’t have perfection the first try, either. I’ve found some helpful baking tips at baking911.com (like what not to do again!).

  20. It was definitely salvageable (and even shareable, which is my big test…a lot of things I cook and eat but wouldn’t share with others because the dish is not (in my estimation) good enough to gift). I’m posting on my blog about it this morning!

    Thanks for the baking911.com suggestion. I’ll check it out.

  21. Pingback: ♥ Irish Cream Cheesecake (via it’s a Greyt Vegan Life) « Imperfect Happiness

  22. Pingback: ♥ Dippy Things | it's a Greyt Vegan Life

  23. Now this. is a thing of beauty, my friend. And I’m so super excited to have a vegan participating in this contest! I really hated to use an ingredient that isn’t vegan b/c not everyone might want to participate, but I was asked at the last minute to host the contest and I had already scheduled the cheesecake recipe to post so it didn’t seem kosher to select an ingredient that wasn’t in the recipe. So thank you for submitting this vegan cheesecake and making me feel better about my decision. I’ve heard good things about Tofutti “cream cheese” but only recently found it in our area. The price tag has so far succeeded in scaring me off, however. But in this cheesecake, spending $15 just for the “cream cheese” would totally be worth it! YUM!

    • This cheesecake is SO good! Confession: I haven’t made it since we moved to 6,200 feet elevation (we used to live at just under 30 feet above sea level). I think it’s time to test drive the recipe up here in the clouds (it’s just that good!). I know Tofutti is expensive (grrrr!) but I always stock up when it’s on sale (they sometimes have coupons on their website, too). Bonus: it has a longer shelf life than dairy cream cheese.

      One of my favorite vegan blogs recently posted a German version of a (vegan) cheesecake made with cashews and yogurt instead of cream cheese. I’ve made soft “cheese” with cashews before, and the flavor is lovely, so I am looking forward to trying the recipe. Give it a shot if you are feeling adventurous! The picture alone is amazing! http://seitanismymotor.com/2011/04/03/blueberry-speculoos-streusel-cheesecake/

  24. Pingback: BSI: Cream Cheese Roundup and Winner « Recipe Rhapsody

  25. Hi to every body, it’s my first pay a quick visit of this webpage; this website consists of remarkable and really excellent stuff in support of readers.

  26. Pingback: Irish Cream Oat Pancakes

Leave a Reply

