♥ Vegan White Chocolate

Vegan white chocolate is impossible to find where we live, and it is an essential ingredient for true Man Gettin’ Cookies, so I was forced to make my own. Necessity is the mother of invention, after all. There are commercial vegan white baking chips out there (and lucky are those that live near stores that carry them) that I could mail order, but the required express shipping and additional charge for the shipping ice pack makes ordering them cost prohibitive: about 20 bucks for a 10 to 12 ounce bag!

It took me three tries: I attempted Hannah Kaminsky’s white chocolate  recipe–I love her idea of using vanilla paste rather than vanilla extract–but the results were a clumpy mess. I used a measuring cup rather than a kitchen scale for the cocoa butter. Doh! Next, I tried Veganbaking.net‘s recipe and I weighed the cocoa butter and ignored the measuring cup altogether (Eureka! you must sift the powdered sugar!) and everything was going great until I added the vanilla extract to the concoction and it turned into a clumpy mess the instant that the vanilla extract hit the bowl.

I finally arrived at a simple white chocolate recipe that works: 1) weighed–rather than measured–cocoa butter, 2) sifted powdered sugar, and 3) no vanilla extract. I may gather my courage and attempt to add vanilla paste (without alcohol) the next time that I make white chocolate, but this simple recipe is wonderful as-is. It isn’t overly sweet and it literally melts in your mouth. Bonus: it is kid-approved, and she knee-jerk rejects anything different than what she is used to. Hmph.

♥     ♥     ♥

White Chocolate

Makes an 8-ounce bar

Ingredients:

1/2 cup + 2 Tablespoons SIFTED powdered sugar

2 teaspoons plain soy milk powder

1/8 teaspoon salt

4-1/4 ounces food grade cocoa butter

Directions:

Using a digital kitchen scale, measure the cocoa butter into a small saucepan; set aside.

Sift the powdered sugar, soy milk powder and the salt into a medium mixing bowl; set aside.

Melt the cocoa butter over medium heat; it melts quickly so do not leave  the pan unattended!  Transfer the melted cocoa butter to the mixing bowl and quickly whisk the mixture together until it is smooth.

Pour the mixture into a chocolate mold (I use an 8-ounce candy bar mold).   If you don’t have a mold, paper cups or silicon bakeware will do in a pinch. Gently tap the mold on the counter top a few times to release any excess air bubbles.

Allow the white chocolate to sit for about 30 minutes before placing it in the refrigerator to cool thoroughly.  Store the cooled white chocolate in an air tight container; it will keep for several months (but it doesn’t last a week in this house!).

5 responses to “♥ Vegan White Chocolate

  1. I’m making this today! Do you have to store the chocolate in the fridge after it’s solid or is it OK at room temp?

  2. Actually, mine never lasts long, so I don’t know how long it will keep at room temperature! But, it is a melty “chocolate” so it will be more solid when refrigerated. My rule of thumb for this kind of thing is that if I don’t plan to use it within the next couple of days, I store it in the fridge. Hope that helps!

  3. Pingback: ♥ Seriously Addictive Caramel Corn & A Lovely Surprise | it's a Greyt Vegan Life

  4. Pingback: ♥ Tis The Sugar Season! | it's a Greyt Vegan Life

  5. Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It really useful
    & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and
    aid others like you helped me.

Leave a Reply

